Forward, positively..

March 27, 2007

Server on a Stick anyone…

Filed under: Work — thebestbrew @ 11:48 am

While messing about with the Microsoft Demo Showcase VMs and having my USB stick to hand, I looked from one to the other and back, in a cartoony manner, with realisation dawning. Although my Sandisk Cruzer is only 2Gb, with it’s high speed, could I fit a server VM onto the USB drive and run the VM usefully from it.

This is a bit frivolous, I know, and it must be old hat to some of you but for me it seems somewhat incredible that, dangling from a key ring along with the, basically, 4000 year old technology represented by a bunch of metal keys, was a relatively flimsy plastic electronic gadget containing a perfectly functional Windows server.

Now – what can I install on it and keep it under 2 Gb?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

